## Subsection 3.—Air Services.

Under the Act creating the Department of National Defence, the powers, duties and functions vested in the Air Board by the Air Board Act of 1919 are now administered under the direction of the Minister of National Defence.

The Air Services have three functions:-

- (1) The air defence of the country.
- (2) The conduct of flying operations for the Civil Services of the Govern-
- (3) The control of civil aviation.

On July 1, 1927, these Services, which up to that date had all been administered by the Director, Royal Canadian Air Force, under the Chief of Staff, were reorganized and divided into two divisions, as follows:---

## (a) Military.

Royal Canadian Air Force.—The Royal Canadian Air Force, under the Chief of the General Staff, administers and controls all military air operations. The functions of the Royal Canadian Air Force are as follows:-

- (a) To provide adequate training facilities for all Government Air Services.
- (b) To provide a nucleus air force around which service units can be formed in the event of war.
- (c) To build up a reserve of pilots and mechanics.

The principal station of the Royal Canadian Air Force is at Camp Borden, Ontario, with other units at Vancouver and Ottawa.

The R.C.A.F. Station, Camp Borden, provides training for officers and airmen of the permanent and non-permanent Royal Canadian Air Force, and also summer training for provisional pilot officers. Training is also provided and trained personnel supplied to the Civil Division of the Air Services. The training covers flying and ground subjects, co-operation with military services, and such other courses of instruction as may be necessary.

The R.C.A.F. Station, Vancouver, provides a seaplane training base for the Royal Canadian Air Force, as the R.C.A.F. Station, Camp Borden, only provides training on land machines.

The strength of the Permanent Royal Canadian Air Force, as at Dec. 31, 1928, was 87 officers and 581 other ranks.

## (b) Civil.

To meet the growing needs of civil aviation, the following three branches were organized, under the Deputy Minister:-

Civil Government Air Operations.—This Branch is charged with the carrying out of all air operations required by any Dominion Government Service, including the forest protection, survey and other miscellaneous work now carried out for the Departments of the Interior, Mines, Agriculture, Indian Affairs, Customs, Public Works, Railways and Canals, Marine and Fisheries, etc. The headquarters of the Branch are at Ottawa, and its operating bases are as follows:-High River, Alta.; Winnipeg, Man.: sub-bases at Lac du Bonnet, Man., Norway House, Man., Cormorant Lake, Man.; Ladder Lake (Big River), Sask.; Ottawa, Ont.; Dartmouth, N.S.

The central stores and workshops for the Civil Division are administered as a part of this Branch. These are located at Victoria island, Ottawa.